A Tumblr Dream Come True!

CINQUE TERRE, ITALY.

Name doesn’t ring a bell? Well I think you’ll be able to recognize it immediately because it’s extremely picturesque little villages are practically internet celebrities!

Cinque Terre.jpg

Look familiar? Well speaking from my own personal experiences, when every little high schooler is daydreaming of the future travel blogger they’ll be (that we all wanted to be at some point I might add) these images have come up on our tumblr feeds! That and the Colosseum pics.

I used to think that there was no way that these places could be real IRL; they totally had to be heavily edited and not this beautiful in person. But these five little villages (Monterosso, Vernazza, Corneglia, Manarola, and Riomaggiore) were all you can dream up and more in person!

The cutest thing too (if you’re into this sort of thing) is that the course between the villages is hike-able! As it is a national park protected by UNESCO, it’s not only beautiful but a perfect outdoor excursion opportunity! Now, I say cute, but I would definitely not recommend if you aren’t of average fitness because the hikes are of medium-hard difficulty. I could only do the first one from Levanto (little town outside of Cinque Terre national park) to Monterosso due to my weak ankles!  But worry not, each village is accessible by trains that run every 15 minutes.

Now I could go into detail about each and every village for you, but I’m sure that info is all over the internet. But before I leave you with the shots I got (only using my iPhone) I’ll leave you with my helpful tips:

  • Monterosso is the greatest village if you’re looking for beach bummin’ and crystal clear water
  • Don’t pay over 10 for Calamari in a cone because in Riomaggiore it’s only 5 euro!
  • Eat earlier than typical Italian dinner time (Italians typically eat dinner around 8:30pm) because all the towns become pretty quiet and closed by 8pm!
  • Don’t try and get away with jumping into trains because this is one of the few cities in Italy that I’ve visited that actually check train tickets OFTEN!
  • If you’re going to pick one hike, do the Levanto-Monterosso hike because it has the best views (according to my friends that actually completed the other hikes)

Just giving my best out into the universe,

Jess ❤

 

Leave a comment